Annual Award Ceremony Honors Undergraduate Students

May 4, 2018
Undergraduate Banquet

The top undergraduate students in the School of Communication were honored at the annual Undergraduate Scholarship and Awards ceremony April 23 in the Ohio Union.

Top Communication Scholar was awarded to Justin Hill, while Top Journalism Scholar went to Ashely Diggins. These awards are to recognize students at the Junior level who demonstrate exceptional academic achievement.

The Robert F. Wolfe Journalism Honor Medal, honoring a senior journalism student, went to Kevin Stankiewicz. Established in 1918, this is the School’s oldest award. Stankiewicz was also inducted into Ohio State’s Kappa Tau Alpha chapter, the national association of student scholars in journalism and mass communication, along with Teresa Cardenas, Zach Konno, Elizabeth Suarez and Abby Vesoulis.

Oller Award Recipient

In addition to members of the School’s staff, some special guests were in attendance to hand out specific awards. John Oller presented the John R. Oller Special Lantern Editor Position to Jerrod Mogan. This position sponsors a reporter working on longer, more investigative pieces. Alumnus Denny Lynch presented the Stairway to Heaven Scholarship he funds to Kailin Martin.

The following students were honored with awards and scholarships for their outstanding academic and professional achievements:

  • BASCA Scholarship: Skylar Harris
  • The Loren E. Bollinger-Kenneth E. Kissel Scholarship: Jacob Rahe
  • Marsha S. Bosley Memorial Scholarship: Shanti Lerner 
  • Michael V. DiSalle Scholarship: Amanda Gruenhagen
  • William M. Drenten Memorial Scholarship: Dylan Tyrer
  • Charles W. Durfey Memorial Scholarship: Andrew Anders
  • Robert W. Ferguson Award for Excellence in Writing: Vanessa Robinson
  • John B. Fullen Scholarship: Zachary Varda
  • Lester C. Getzloe Memorial Scholarship: Claire Kudika
  • William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholarship: Charles Militello
  • Donald L. Kidwell Memorial Scholarship: Sam Block
  • George J. Kienzle Memorial Scholarship: Miranda Lipton
  • Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Top Scholar Award: Abby Vesoulis  
  • Paul V. Peterson KTA Scholarship: Zach Konno
  • KTA Inductions: Teresa Cardenas, Zach Konno, Kevin Stankiewicz, Elizabeth Suarez, Abby Vesoulis
  • Brennan Family Award for Courageous Jouralism: Owen Daugherty
  • John R. Oller Special Lantern Editor Position: Jerrod Mogan
  • Patricia B. Miller Special Lantern Editor Position: Kaylee Harter
  • Robert F. Wolfe Journalism Honor Medal: Kevin Stankiewicz
  • Judy Stewart Mesenburg Memorial Scholarship: Sydney Rose
  • Ohio Newspaper Fund Award: Haley Trimble
  • James E. Pollard Memorial Scholarship: Leah Svoboda
  • Robert E. Schaefer Scholarship: Emily Chen, Daneyliz Rodriguez, Claire Shonk
  • Walter W. Seifert Award: Rebecca Kerr
  • Stairway to Heaven Scholarship: Kailin Martin
  • Frank J. Tate Scholarship: Tayla Davis
  • Marcy Hill Terry Scholarship: Paige McKirahan
  • Director’s Award for Achievement in Communication: Elizabeth Riggs
  • Paul S. Underwood Scholarship: Mikael Robbins
  • Paul Williams Memorial Scholarship: Sam Harris 
  • Wilson Sports Writing Scholarship: Ryan Velazquez
  • Bill Zipf 4-H Memorial Scholarship: Caroline Rice
  • George E. Hammond Scholarship Awards: Lindsey Archipley, Seth Shanley, Mackenzie Gignac
  • Top Communication Scholar: Justin Hill
  • Top Journalism Scholar: Ashley Diggins