School of Communication Honors Top Undergrads

April 23, 2021

School of Communication Honors Top Undergrads

Andrew Klemm

The top undergraduate communication and journalism scholars were honored at the school’s annual scholarship and award ceremony on April 16. The banquet, which traditionally takes place in person, was held on Zoom due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Gretchen Ritter, vice provost and executive dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, opened up the banquet by honoring School of Communication Director Mike Slater, who is finishing his tenure as director this spring.

Top Communication Scholar was awarded to Andrew Klemm, while Top Journalism Scholar was awarded to Sarah Szilagy. These awards recognize junior level students who demonstrate exceptional academic achievement. The Joseph S. Meyers Award for top outstanding senior was given to Emma Iammarino. 

Sam Raudins
Joseph S. Meyers Award Winner, Sam Raudins

The Robert F. Wolfe Journalism Honor Medal, the school’s oldest award, was presented to Sam Raudins, editor-in-chief of The Lantern. Established in 1918, this award is traditionally given to a senior journalism student.

The first ever Carolyn N. Kraft Copy Chief position was awarded to Asia Atuah. This new award from the School of Communication was made possible through a donation made by the Kraft family.

In addition to undergraduate student recognition, Sandy Hermanoff, chair of the School of Communication Advancement Board, was presented with the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Sandy Hermanoff
Chair of the School of Communication Advancement Board, Sandy Hermanoff

The school appreciates all of the alumni donations that make this support for students possible. 

Alumni who are interested in helping the school fulfill its mission to make the next generation of communicators and communication scholars the best it can be can review opportunities to give here. 

The following students were honored with awards and scholarships for their outstanding academic and professional achievements:

  • BASCA Scholarship: Angelica Smith-Williams
  • Bollinger-Kissell Scholarship: Emily Siebenmorgen
  • Marsha S. Bosley Memorial Scholarship: Olivia Albert
  • Brennan Family Award for Courageous Journalism: Owen Milnes
  • Michael V. Disalle Scholarship: Jane Parry
  • William Drenten Memorial Scholarship: Hannah Puckett
  • Charles W. Durfey Memorial Scholarship: Athena Markowski
  • Robert W. Ferguson Award for Excellence in Writing: Aurora Ellis
  • John B. Fullen Scholarship: Mary Kidwell
  • William Randolph Hearst Scholarship: Danny Fogerty
  • Sandra M. and Michael J. Hermanoff Scholarship: Victoria Adams
  • Marcy Hill Terry Memorial Scholarship: Ladan Askar
  • Donald L. Kidwell Memorial Scholarship: Chloe Willison
  • George J. Kienzle Memorial Scholarship: Morgan Gibbs
  • Sandy Hermanoff Lantern Editor Position: Maya Neyman
  • Carolyn N. Kraft Lantern Editor Position: Asia Atuah
  • Patricia B. Miller Lantern Editor Position: Sarah Szilagy
  • John R. Oller Special Lantern Editor Position: Myriam Muhammad
  • Robert F. Wolfe Journalism Honor Medal: Sam Raudins
  • Judy Stewart Mesenburg Memorial Scholarship: Jessica Sunderhaft
  • Ohio Newspaper Scholarship: Angela Ciarochi
  • Newton Scholarship: Nathan Forsthoefel
  • Piergallini Scholarship: Kevin Lapka
  • James Pollard Memorial Scholarship: Zachary Shafer
  • Richards Scholarship: Gabriel Burggraf
  • Robert Schaefer Scholarship: Benjamin Blavat, Jessica Langer, Cassandra Arvay
  • Walter Seifert Scholarship: Madilyn Wojtowicz
  • Stairway to Heaven Scholarship: Jacob Benge
  • Frank J. Tate Scholarship: Casey Smith
  • Joseph S. Myers Award: Emma Iammarino
  • Paul Underwood Scholarship: Chantal Brown
  • Wilson Sports Writing Scholarship: Jacob Rice
  • George Hammond Scholarship: Hope Miller, Emma Bowers, Asia Atuah
  • Top Scholar Award- Communication: Andrew Klemm
  • Top Scholar Award- Journalism: Sarah Szilagy
Sarah Szilagy
Top Journalism Scholar, Sarah Szilagy
Andrew Klemm
Top Communication Scholar, Andrew Klemm

A recording of the awards ceremony is available here.


News Filters: