Comm Day Celebrates Graduate Students, Faculty

May 1, 2016
Comm Day 2016 flier

Fulbright Scholar Dr. Mary Beth Oliver from Penn State University spoke at the Comm Day Graduate Student Celebration and Awards Ceremony on April 22.  Oliver specializes in media and psychology and is a Fellow of the International Communication Association and a co-PI on a multi-year grant from the Templeton Foundation to study inspiring media messages.

The following awards were given at the event:

  • Graduate Student Organization Outstanding Peer Award - Ted Dickinson
  • Albert Warren Scholarship Award (for graduate student teaching excellence) - Courtney Anderegg
  • Walter B. Emery Scholarship Award (otherwise known as the Junior Research Award, for those students still taking coursework, or non ABD) - Megan Vendemia
  • Doris Gildea Morgan Scholarship Award (otherwise known as the Senior Research Award, for ABD students) - David Clementson
  • Faculty Mentor Award, voted on by current graduate students - David. R. Ewoldsen
  • Closing Remarks, selected graduating student - Kelly Dillon

Mary Beth Oliver

Dr. Mary Beth Oliver, Keynote Speaker

Courtney Anderegg

Courtney Anderegg, recipient of the Albert Warren Scholarship Award for graduate student teaching excellence

Megan Vendemia

Megan Vendemia, recipient of the Walter B. Emery Scholarship Award (Junior Research Award)