School of Comm 2020 Awards

April 25, 2020
Mike Slater, Director of the School of Communication


The School of Communication is proud to honor more than 40 students with awards and scholarships for the 2019-2020 school year. We sincerely regret that we were not able to celebrate this achievement with students and their families in person, but it does not make the honors any less of an achievement. The School is greatly honored by students' outstanding hard work, personally and academically.

See below for a complete list of award winners.


Undergraduate Student Awards

BASCA Scholarship
Mikala Mahoney

The Loren E. Bollinger-Kenneth E. Kissel Scholarship 
Caroline Foley

Marsha S. Bosley Memorial Scholarship
Jasmine Hilton

Brennan Family Award for Courageous Journalism
Jack Long

Michael V. DiSalle Scholarship
Richard Giang

William M. Drenten Memorial Scholarship 
Daniel O'Leary

Charles W. Durfey Memorial Scholarship 
Chantal Brown

Robert W. Ferguson Award for Excellence in Writing 
Gabriel Burggraf

John B. Fullen Scholarship 
Samantha Raudins

Lester C. Getzloe Memorial Scholarship
Maeve Walsh

William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholarship 
Allyson Williams

Sandra M. and Michael J. Hermanoff Scholarship
Tatyana Woodall

Marcy Hill Terry Memorial Scholarship
Leslie Pollard

Communication Internship Fund
Emma Scott Moran

Donald L. Kidwell Memorial Scholarship 
Mary Kidwell

George J. Kienzle Memorial Scholarship
Akayla Gardner

Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Top Scholar Award 
Darby Clark

Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Paul V. Peterson Scholarship 
Kaylee Harter

Patricia B. Miller Special Lantern Editor Position 
Bella Czajkowski

John R. Oller Special Lantern Editor Position 
Maeve Walsh

Hermanoff Special Lantern Editor Position
Jack Long

Robert F. Wolfe Journalism Honor Medal 
Kaylee Harter

Judy Stewart Mesenburg Memorial Scholarship 
Emma Iammarino

Ohio Newspaper Fund Award 
Gretchen Rudolph

James E. Pollard Memorial Scholarship 
Paige Thobe

Robert E. Schaefer Scholarship
Emma Bowers
Maxwell Garrison
Elizabeth Kazemi

Walter W. Seifert Award 
Avery Eliason

Stairway to Heaven Scholarship 
Erika Kolb

Frank J. Tate Scholarship in Journalism 
Kevin Lapka

Joseph S. Myers Award - Top Communication Graduating Senior
Brooke Crockett

Paul Underwood Scholarship
Sarah Szilagy

Paul Williams Scholarship
Collin Ginnan

Wilson Sports Writing Scholarship
Jacob Benge

Bill Zipf 4-H Scholarship
Jessica Sunderhaft

George E. Hammond Scholarship
Asia Atuah
Micahiah Brown-Davis
Hannah Weaver

Top Scholar Awards

Top Scholar: Communication
Eleanor Kapcar

Top Scholar: Journalism
Darby Clark


Graduate Student Awards

Walter B. Emery Memorial Scholarship
Austin Hubner

Doris Gildea Morgan Scholarship
Olivia Bullock

Albert Warren Scholarship
Wenbo Li

Outstanding Master's Student Award
Daniel Colon Amil