School Honors Undergrads at 2019 Awards Reception

June 5, 2019
School of Comm Undergraduate Awards Ceremony


The School of Communication honored over 30 undergraduate students with awards and scholarships at a reception April 22. The School commends its students for excellence in writing, commitment to scholarship, attention to integrity and interest in research. See below for a complete list of award winners.


BASCA Scholarship
Jasmine Hilton 

The Loren E. Bollinger-Kenneth E. Kissel Scholarship
Haley Trimble 

Marsha S. Bosley Memorial Scholarship
Lillian Maslia 

Michael V. DiSalle Scholarship
Erin DeVilbiss

William M. Drenten Memorial Scholarship 
Braden Moles 

Charles W. Durfey Memorial Scholarship
Caleb Ewing 

Robert W. Ferguson Award for Excellence in Writing
Jessica Badinghaus 

John B. Fullen Scholarship
Samantha Raudins 

William Randolph Hearst Foundation Scholarship
Morgan Marconi 

Barry M. Horstman Journalism Scholarship
Jessica Klein 

Donald L. Kidwell Memorial Scholarship
Caroline Foley 

George J. Kienzle Memorial Scholarship
Hannah Ross 

Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Inductions
Ashley Diggins
Michael Lee
Zach Varda 

Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Top Scholar Award
Zach Varda 

Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA) Paul V. Peterson Scholarship
Ashley Diggins 

2019 The Ohio News Media Association Recognition
1st place for: In-Depth Reporting, Photojournalism, and Newspaper Design
2nd place for: Multimedia Package, Best Website, and Arts and Entertainment Coverage
3rd place for: News Coverage and Sports Coverage

Society of Professional Journalists’ 2018 Region 4 Mark of Excellence 
Finalists for In-Depth Reporting, General Column Writing, Sports Writing, Sports Column Writing, General News Photography, Sports Photography, Podcast, Online/Digital News Videography, and Best All-Around Non Daily Student Newspaper

First place in Column Writing, News and Sports Photography, and News and Videography

Brennan Family Award for Courageous Journalism
Jasmine Hilton 

Patricia B. Miller Special Lantern Editor Position
Maeve Walsh

John R. Oller Special Lantern Editor Position
Jasmine Hilton

Robert F. Wolfe Journalism Honor Medal
Robert Sutelan

Judy Stewart Mesenburg Memorial Scholarship
Skylar Harris

William H. Newton Memorial Scholarship
Jerrod Mogan 

Ohio Newspaper Fund Award
Brooke Crockett

Richard Piergallini Memorial Scholarship
Micahiah Brown-Davis

James E. Pollard Memorial Scholarship
Sophie Wong

Robert K. Richards Memorial Scholarship
Emma Iammarino 

Robert E. Schaefer Scholarship
Reeanna Houser
Vanessa McGinnis
Caroline Rice

Walter W. Seifert Award
Allison Mellor

Stairway to Heaven Scholarship
Rebecca Kerr

Frank J. Tate Scholarship in Journalism
Allyson Williams

The Marcy Hill Terry Memorial Scholarship
Rachel Gouhin

Myers Award-Top Comm Graduating Senior
Justin Hill

The Paul Underwood Scholarship
Lydia Gingerich

Wilson Sports Writing Scholarship
Andrew Anders

The George E. Hammond Scholarship in Communication
Lindsey Archipley
Sam Block
Kelsey Henry

Top Scholar Awards

Top Scholar: Communication
Eleanor Kapcar

Top Scholar: Journalism
Darby Clark


For more information about each scholarship, view the event program.

Ohio State School of Communication Undergraduate Award Winners

Ohio State School of Communication Undergraduate Award Winners

Ohio State School of Communication Undergraduate Award Winners