Huskey receives award at ICA Conference

May 29, 2017
Richard Huskey

Assistant Professor Richard Huskey was named the 2017 Annie Lang Dissertation Award recipient for the Information Systems Division of the International Communication Association.

Huskey’s research focuses on the intersection of media psychology and cognitive neuroscience in the emerging research area known as Media Neuroscience. Through his work in the Cognitive Communication Science Lab, his research investigates motivation and media engagement, attitude and behavior change and the influence of moral narratives.

AEJMC Top Paper Awards go to Faculty, Students

May 19, 2017
Aysenur Dal

The Communication Theory and Methodology division of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication awarded School of Communication faculty and graduate student with top papers.

Three Undergraduate Students Honored at University's Annual Leadership Awards

April 28, 2017
Emma Grubaugh

Three School of Communication undergraduate students received awards at The Ohio State University's annual Leadership Awards on April 21. 

Emma Grubaugh, a junior Strategic Communication major, was one of the Outstanding Positional Leader Award winners for her role as Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Ohio State Chapter president for the 2016-2017 school year. 

The Lantern Receives SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards

April 3, 2017
Lantern Newsroom

The Lantern was recently recognized with four Mark of Excellence Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists. These awards consider all college newspapers in Ohio, Michigan, Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia.

Ohio State in Top 25 for Comm & Media Studies Worldwide

March 31, 2017
QS Ranking Badge

Ohio State ranked 21 in the world in Communication & Media Studies in the 2017 QS World University Rankings by Subject, released in March on The school moved up two spots in the ranking for this subject compared to the 2016 and Communication & Media Studies was among the highest rated subjects at Ohio State in this ranking. This research guides many higher education stakeholders.

Undergraduate Daniel Rodriguez recognized for Outstanding Mentorship

March 29, 2017
Daniel Rodriguez

Undergraduate student Daniel Rodriguez recently received the Susan M. Hartmann Mentoring and Leadership Award. This award is presented annually to a faculty member, regular staff member or student within The Ohio State University College of Arts and Sciences who has demonstrated outstanding mentoring and/or leadership on behalf of women or other historically underrepresented groups at the university.

“I could not be more humbled, honored and surprised by this award,” Rodriguez said.