Thirty Faculty, Students to Present at ICA Conference

March 20, 2016
ICA logo

Thirty Ohio State School of Communication faculty, graduate and PhD students will participate in the International Communication Association Conference June 9-13 in Fukuoka, Japan. Students and faculty will present about published papers in a variety of research areas. View a complete conference program outlining all sessions and presenters.

Irwin Honored by ICA Information Systems

March 20, 2016
Matt Irwin

PhD Student Matt Irwin is the lead author of “Dynamic Modeling in Communication Research,” a paper named Best Papers in Information Systems by the International Communication Association. He will receive a travel grant from the Information Systems division to attend the ICA Annual Conference in Fukuoka, Japan in June. Associate Professor Joyce Wang was a contributing writer.

The Lantern Named Top Ohio Student Newspaper

February 19, 2016
Lantern Newsroom

The Lantern received the Frank E. Deaner Award for Excellence in Collegiate Journalism, Division A, for the sixth year in a row. The Ohio Newspaper Association presents this award to the top college newspaper in Ohio. Congratulations to the School of Communication students and faculty who work hard to make The Lantern and Lantern TV a premiere news source.

Other awards that The Lantern and Lantern TV won at the ONA awards:

Grad Students Play Prominent Role at 2015 ICA Conference

November 5, 2015

Fifteen School of Communication graduate students played a prominent role at the 2015 ICA Conference of the International Communication Association this May in San Juan, Puerto Rico.  Students first-authored 21 papers and posters, and participated as co-authors on 13 more. 

Comm Students Help OSU EcoCAR Team Win Year One of North American Competition

November 5, 2015

The Ohio State EcoCAR team collected its second consecutive team victory in a four-year competition to reengineer a 2016 Chevrolet Camaro into a performance hybrid at the EcoCAR 3 Year One Competition in Seattle, Washington, on June 4. The team’s communication program, led by strategic communication majors Chelsea Hagan and Trevor Thompkins, earned a second consecutive first place in the “Overall Communications Program” category, topping 15 other teams nationwide in the competition.

Faculty, PhD Students Co-Author AEJMC Top Faculty, Top Theory Paper

November 5, 2015

Professors Dave Ewoldson and Michael Slater co-authored a paper with PhD student Nathan Silver and Ohio State PhD graduate Benjamin Johnson, who is now an assistant professor at the VU University Amsterdam: “Boundary Expansion of a Threatened Self: Entertainment as Relief.” The paper  Top Faculty Paper and Top Theory Paper, Communication Theory and Methodology Division, Association for Education in Journalism and

Garrett Receives AEJMC Political Comm Award

November 5, 2015

Lead Author Associate Professor Kelly Garrett and co-authoring PhD students Rachel Neo and Aysenur Dal and alumnus Ben Johnson received the 2015 Lynda Lee Kaid Best Published Paper in Political Communication Award presented by the AEJMC Political Communication Interest Group. His paper, Implications of Pro- and Counterattitudinal Information Exposure for Affective Polarization, was published in Human Communication Research in 2014.