School Honors Undergrads at 2019 Awards Reception

June 5, 2019
School of Comm Undergraduate Awards Ceremony


The School of Communication honored over 30 undergraduate students with awards and scholarships at a reception April 22. The School commends its students for excellence in writing, commitment to scholarship, attention to integrity and interest in research. See below for a complete list of award winners.


BASCA Scholarship
Jasmine Hilton 

The Loren E. Bollinger-Kenneth E. Kissel Scholarship
Haley Trimble 

Marsha S. Bosley Memorial Scholarship
Lillian Maslia 

The Lantern Honored by Ohio News Media Association

February 17, 2019
The Lantern newsroom in 2019

The Lantern earned recognition from the Ohio News Media Association at the 2019 Collegiate Newspaper and Website Competition. The student newspaper earned first place awards in the categories of in-depth reporting, photography and design. Read more about The Lantern’s recent accomplishments and how it is becoming a multimedia news platform. 

Bonus Receives Mattox Award for Research

January 28, 2019
Alex Bonus

Assistant Professor James Alex Bonus won the Sarah Evans Mattox Faculty Research Award based on articles published during 2018. This endowment provides support on a competitive basis for a faculty member’s research. Specifically, this award is given to a highly productive, innovative faculty member who conducts research on the impact of media on public opinion and/or society.