Celebrating Undergraduate Student Achievements

Ohio State’s student newspaper, The Lantern, was recognized by the Ohio Society of Professional Journalists in their annual Mark of Excellence Awards this year. The Lantern and its students walked away with wins in every category for which they were named finalists, including Best Web Site, Feature Writing, Sports Photography, Photo Illustration, Breaking News Photography and Television Feature Reporting. Individual students Kevin Stankiewicz, Mark Batke, Jon McAllister and Yann Schreiber were honored for their work with the paper.

Read more about this year’s Mark of Excellence Awards.

Two undergraduate School of Communication students won third place in the Social and Behavioral Sciences category of Ohio State’s Denman Undergraduate Research Forum on March 30. Journalism major Erin Gottsacker and strategic communication major Travis Filicky presented their study, “Entertainment Values in American Satire and Regular News Broadcasts,” at the forum’s 21st annual event. In their research, the pair analyzed the extent to which entertainment values such as dramatic framing, audio-visual elements and audience interaction were used in a number of satire, network and cable news broadcasts.

Read Gottsacker and Filicky’s research abstract and learn more about the Denman Undergraduate Research Forum

The school’s Undergraduate Scholarship and Awards Ceremony on April 8 honored a number of undergraduate students for their academic achievements and professional promise. 25 distinctions were given to the top students in the school, made possible by the generosity of Ohio State School of Communication alumni.

Read more about the Undergraduate Scholarship and Awards Ceremony.

Written by student Carly Cheton